//
you're reading...
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia

An idea is born


This is a short story about the initial spark that gave birth to this trip. First I must say that since childhood I’ve listened to and respected the opinions that people of an advanced age have.

Roughly two years ago I was reviewing a house for my last employer. After pulling into the driveway, I got out of my company car and walked to the front door. Normally no one is home when I did those reviews, but that day I was greeted by an elderly lady. She wasn’t who I was looking for since I needed to speak with the homeowners but, as fate would have it, she was exactly who I needed to speak to. She flew in from Arizona for a wedding that weekend. We took care of the simple questions that I had to ask about the house and our conversation started to drift on to other things. She spoke mostly of Arizona and the dozen or so other places that she was fortunate to live during her life. I sat back and listened with complete fascination. At the end of our brief encounter she asked me politely where I’ve lived and I replied “Here in Jefferson County my whole life”. She quickly replied “Son. You need to get out more”. She was pretty sharp for eighty one.

For some reason what she said in that moment hit me hard enough to change the wiring in my brain. I became completely committed to getting out more. When I left that house that day the first plan was to ride a bicycle across the country and as time passed and as other influences came and went the plan evolved into what it is now. A year on my streetbike around the USA moving along with the warmest seasons at the right time of year.

About mikekrabal

I'm a fella who finally let the inner traveler come out. A non-standard sort.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “An idea is born

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Posted by Mr WordPress | October 8, 2011, 9:29 pm
  2. Good luck Mike!

    Posted by Igor Dmitry | October 8, 2011, 6:33 pm

Leave a Reply

About Me

My name's Mike Krabal and I am from Jefferson County WV. I'm a thirty year old guy who still believes that you can be anything you want to be. I'm on a mission to find out exactly what that is.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Networked Blogs

Blog Stats

  • 78,713 hits
