//
you're reading...
Virginia

Stand Up and Follow Your Dreams (a few words from a friend)


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I first met Mike in the back parking lot of a small pizza shop in Charles Town. He just returned from making another pizza delivery in his little red Nissan truck, which was  plastered with motocross stickers and had tires reminiscent of Nascar slicks. Within minutes of talking to him, I knew we would get right along. He had that warm, open personality that makes you feel like you are talking to one of your kin folk the moment you meet him. Next thing you know, we were talking pizza, bikes, and river rafting. Turned out that he could not make it to a party with us that night because he was spending his evenings building a home from the ground up with own two hands. While my buddies and I were out drinking, Mike was driving nails through two by fours, putting to use the skills he picked up during another day job working as a carpenter for a general contractor. I was sceptical of the outcome at first,  but eventually his determination started to win me over, as I have never seen anyone so dedicated to pursuing his or her goal.

A couple of years later, I found myself at that move-in party at his newly completed 3 story house in the middle of historic Harpers Ferry. During those two years I have learned to never question Mike’s willpower. From the time he built a massive treehouse as a small child, he took on a slew of projects without any formal training, and succeeded against all odds. A motocross racer, a brewmaster, a carpenter, an inventor – I could talk with him for hours and not run out of things to discuss. I could not believe that this was a guy with no college education hailing from a small West Virginia town.

But something was eating Mike from the inside, and I noticed that an idea was brewing in his head. When I saw a map on his wall with pins scattered all over United States, I knew something epic was about to happen.

There are people that dream all their life about doing something awesome, and then there are people like Mike who set a goal for themselves and work hard to make it happen. I am glad to have been a part of his journey and hope that we can document it along the way, so it can become an inspiration for everyone else with a seemingly impossible dream just waiting to materialize.

Good luck on the road, Mike!

Your friend Igor

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Stand Up and Follow Your Dreams (a few words from a friend)

  1. Igor, this is the nicest thing I have ever read. You are a great friend.

    Posted by Brittany | October 21, 2011, 11:14 am
  2. I also had to follow up with something Igor!

    Well 3 1/2 years ago, my life changed as well walked into the local Anthonys with my friend Heather to visit a friend that worked there. I met Mike seen him several times before never really talked to him. Really didnt know him until I met him at a few parties. On New Years 07 at his brothers new years party was our first kiss! And it all started from there!I was there at his house watching this Crazy man working, building his huge house! While working 2 jobs!I was so amazed by what he was doing and always wanted to be around him! It was remarkable watching him do all this work everyday! He was a workacholic! I would supply the taco bell, and the “big Bites” from the local 7″11 everynight lol and throw my hand in and help also 😛 He is the first person I have ever met with so many ambitions and goals and so many outlooks on life. He made me look at life in a totally different way. He is such an antsy person and never settles for anything but the best or craizest ideas he can think of! This whole trip actually started with the idea of riding a bicycle around the counrty! Or coming up with an invention to get out the the deep hole,(BILLS) I could see the trip was coming, working everyday, doing the same routine everyday, the stress from bills that was never ending. We were never really able to really do anything or be happy with eachother because the stress was just so overwhelming, We never had the extra loot to do anything because of all the hassle from the house. He was never happy, always in a bad mood, with took a toll on our relationship.But whenever he would talk about this trip or selling the house, or an invention you could see the light in his eyes! I knew he would make it happen, never wanted to belive it, because I never wanted to be away from him! But he did it! And as much as it sucks to sleep alone, and not be able to see him everyday, I am so HAPPY that he is HAPPY! You are a great person Mike! I love that you are different and dont settle for the normal everyday lifestyle! I hope that you find what you are looking for out there! And I will look forward to hearing about your daily adventures! I anxiously wait to hear from you everyday! The past 3yrs have been great! I met my Best Friend:) Just be safe out there! You know I will always be here for you no matter what! Couldnt imagine you not being in my life! Only a Phone call away! I miss you tons! But get out there and give all these normal people out there settling for the normal lifestyle something to read!Im sure this Blog will show people that it is possible to do things! Just go for it!! A wise man once told me “the only constant thing in life is change” :p Have fun Fecker!!! xoxox

    Posted by Brittany | October 21, 2011, 6:59 pm

Leave a Reply

About Me

My name's Mike Krabal and I am from Jefferson County WV. I'm a thirty year old guy who still believes that you can be anything you want to be. I'm on a mission to find out exactly what that is.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Networked Blogs

Blog Stats

  • 78,713 hits
