//
you're reading...
California, Los Angeles, Mailbu

Day 100 FEET IN THE PACIFIC!


Day 100. In my unofficial rule book I’m officially hardcore. On day five I said “Five days in. That would sound so hard-core if it were a hundred days in.” Well here I am, one hundred days on the road. What have I got out of it to this point. For sure I’ve had a ton of fun and without a doubt it has been the most interesting period of my life. It has not been easy. Some days wizz by magically, like day 99, and some days are nothing but trouble like day 39. All in all I feel incredibly lucky to have made it this far. I’ve gained a new respect for the beauty and diversity of our great country and its people and have gained a greater appreciation for my family. I love the thought that I had the chance to be a quasi tour guide for people who keep up with my journey. Some of them have traveled more than me and some have hardly traveled at all. I’m sure glad to get out of my comfort zone and become increasingly comfortable with life being not so structured and boring. How long can I go on like this? The money will decide that. (Does that make me crazy since I just asked a question and answered myself?) I know that mentally and physically I could go on for a year, no prob. That’s the goal and only time will tell.

I started the landmark day with a battle with the worlds slowest wi-fi at a McDonalds near Malibu. Uploading one picture was a nightmare and I managed to make it through 23 of them. It took ten seconds to upload one percent of one picture. That adds up to 1000 seconds per picture or 16.66 minutes per picture. To conquer this demon of a wi-fi connection, I opened up five indirectredirection.com pages at once and had all of the pages uploading pictures. It still took over an hour and a half to upload all of them. There was no way that I was going to tell the story of a day like day 99 without the help of pictures. It was just to good of a day. Eventually with my tortoise like level of patience, I made it through and had a post up. After that it was time to do what I had to do. Get these pale hillbilly feet in the biggest pond on Earth, the Pacific Ocean. Malibu was the closest place to make that happen. I rode through the beautiful, but crumbly, Malibu Canyon on the way to the beach. The previous nights rain triggered several mini landslides along the canyon road and bowling ball sized rocks were everywhere. Once in Malibu, I found a place to park the Goose and took a little nature trail down to the ocean. To my disappointment, the coast was so rocky that I had to walk another mile once I got there just to put my stompers in the water without cutting up the bottom of my feet. Finally I had them in the waves. I crossed the United States. The Goose could take me no further west. I feel like I finally accomplished something even if it was at a snail’s pace. I called my mom while standing in the freezing cold waves, snapped some pics, and trekked, barefooted, back to the Goose. By that time it was approaching rush hour and I made my mind up earlier to go to the third round of Supercross at Dodgers Stadium.

I miss riding my mx bikes so much right now that going to the supercross race would be like getting a quick fix. Monetarily it wasn’t to practical. Before I talk about the race, I have to mention the absolute atrocious  prices for parking and food. The ticket to watch the show was only $27. The parking pass was $20. I thought “Twenty dollars for what?” There is nothing to see  in the parking lot. The only thing going on there is a headache inducing traffic jam and they’re asking twenty bones to participate in it. Rip off city. The food is so expensive that I’d rather go hungry than pay five dollars for a small tray of fries or nine dollars for an eight inch pizza. Now that my griping is over I’ll get on with the race. Looking at the track brought back thoughts of my mindset when I was racing every weekend, hoping to someday make the big show. Back then, all I wanted was to be pro and there was no doubt in my mind. I wonder how life would be if I recovered from my broken leg, put the effort in, and didn’t let other parts of life get me sidetracked. Would I have made it?  Who knows. This is where I’m at now, spectating still, and still in love with the sport. The races themselves were great. Eli Tomac cleaned house in the 250 class. He was doing a triple that no other 250 guy was doing and his fitness is unquestionable. He also had the fourth fastest lap of the day out of both the 250 and 450 classes. As for the big shots in the 450 class, the two guys that I want to win, Villopoto and Stewart, both had unfortunate nights with a crash between each of them. Chad Reed, the hard-working, persistent rider from Australia took the win over the ever consistent Ryan Dungey. Every guy that competes at that level works extremely hard and should be appreciated for their talent and dedication. It’s the only sport that I can sit and watch and really admire the athletes. Motocross is the ultimate man and machine combination sport and a great man vs. man competition. I love it for that.

Leaving Dodger Stadium was a nightmare for me. I got lost a dozen times, found myself taking completely unfamiliar roads in Los Angeles at midnight and completely confused.  The traffic police give horrible directions and then send you on your way. That is the reason I got lost every time. After an hour of wandering around LA at night I finally found 101 north and made a bee-line for the safety of my tent in Malibu.

About mikekrabal

I'm a fella who finally let the inner traveler come out. A non-standard sort.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Day 100 FEET IN THE PACIFIC!

  1. Whow ! What a day # 100 was. Although I am a little on the prejudice side, ” Bubba Stewart ” is my pick of the litter when it comes to moto cross. Rarely do you see a rider get passed & he comes back. 98-100 will only keep droping back further once passed, but noe Bubba. The kid has more fight in him than Audie Murphy. I hope you put out a book some day. You’ve got a natural ability for writing. It’s almost as if I’m right there with you. I now have 6 friends that keep up with you EVERY day. This trip is intrigueing to lots of people. I can understand ” good days & bad “. Thats the way life is. I spent 13 mo. & 1 day in Vietnam. Killing one day, playing pranks on your buddies the next. I remember all of them. Wouldn’t take a million $ for the memories nor ten-million $ to do it again. Boy ! You’re going to have some tales for your kids & grandkids some day & friends to remember from all over. You’r a nice sociable person who makes friends easy, therefore you’re the perfect person for this trip. NEVER TAKE IT FOR GRANTED–IT’S A SPECIAL, ONCE IN A LIFE TIME TRIP.Probably, only one out of every 50,000 people do what you are doing. You may run out of $, but NEVER give up till that day comes. When I retired, I packed a pup tent, & a BABY matress in my 1952 Chevy truck, & headed out for Sturgess S. Dakota. Pitched tent whenever I could. Stayed at Sturgess 4 days. 103 deg. in August of 2001. Moved on to Yellowstone for 4 days, then on to Bridger, Mont. ( just below Billings).Was gone ONLY 31 days, taking 30 rolls of film (just prior to digital ). A field of sunflowers, old windmills, old tractors, old trucks, I didn’t miss any. You learn to sleep light when your sleeping on a baby mattress in the bed of a 52 truck at a rest area on the side of a dark road. I’m all about adventure and I just wish I’d known you 10 years ago. I did have a Gold Wing then also LOL. Enough Bullsh– for one night . My adventure was nothing compared to yours. Enjoy every moment, you’ll never forget it. When you’r 65, ” you’ll say, now I remember what old man Hearn told me, & he was right, those were the best days of my life ! Take care Kid.

    Posted by Asa Bob Hearn | January 22, 2012, 9:11 pm
  2. That was really nice!! I’m so glad to hear you have met such nice people in your travels Mike! I cant wait until I am there in San Diego with you!

    Posted by britt | January 23, 2012, 8:55 am

Leave a Reply

About Me

My name's Mike Krabal and I am from Jefferson County WV. I'm a thirty year old guy who still believes that you can be anything you want to be. I'm on a mission to find out exactly what that is.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Networked Blogs

Blog Stats

  • 78,713 hits
