//
you're reading...
California, San Diego, Santa Rosa

Day 117 Northbound


Here’s the post that I didn’t want to write as I left home nearly four months ago.

Time for Brittany to leave San Diego came after a pleasant nine-day stay. We had plenty of fun on her dime and I’m thankful for it. My dimes can now be counted on a few hands, hence the first sentence. We woke, I did a load of laundry, a post, and we started packing. Checkout time was noon and Brittany’s plane was scheduled to get airborne at 12:41 pm. While in San Diego over the past week and a half, I had a chance to get a bit of a feel for the area and even though I found a dream job listing from Alpinestars, and I was in southern California, the mecca of motocross, I didn’t want to take another random job to get by. The dream job at Alpinestars would be perfect for me and I would be perfect for it. IF….. If my family lived in southern California also. I see no point in taking a position that would keep me away from them for years, no matter what the perks are. Family is the number one “perk” in life.

At this point, I know that I could pull off a position at McDonalds or something to get by and make this trip last a year, but how could I save money while paying for a place to live on that sort of minimum wage dough in southern California. It wouldn’t be fruitful enough to continue another half or quarter year of travel later on in 2012 when the weather breaks in the north. My plan now is to see one more site. The one, that I’ve always proclaimed to anyone who asked, as the thing I look forward to the most on this trip. The redwoods! I told my mom that no matter what I won’t stop this trip due to any circumstances until I see those mammoth trees. Now I’m hovering at just enough money to make it to northern California where the ancient giants live and back home, if I’m lucky. I’m incredibly excited that it is finally time! All I have to do now is ride up there. That gets me back to the morning when Brittany was scheduled to take off. This time, unlike the first time we parted ways in Lexington Virginia, I didn’t feel the sadness or fear of the uncertain road ahead. This time I was ready to go. Nine or ten days of being stationary in a city is all I need to get motivated to get out of there.

Brittany and I agreed to find her a cab to get her and her things to the airport since I had a really really long day of riding planned. We said our goodbyes. She took it pretty hard. I told her that I’ll be home in a couple of weeks and off she went. The time was just past 11am and I really needed to get on the road. The redwoods that I wanted to see were 848 miles north near Crescent City California. I told Brittany that I would try to do it all in one day. (Set very high goals and reach high results) My route would begin right in San Diego where I jumped on Freeway 5 north and end in Santa Rosa California, some 500 plus miles north after 9pm. The 5 freeway passes right through the San Joaquin valley, which is situated in central California, north of LA and west of San Francisco. It is a huge agricultural hub of the state. Completely flat farmland lines either side of the freeway and when you gaze further in the distance you notice mountains ranges that perfectly highlight the region. Some points during the ride through the valley reminded me of rural farmland that I rode through in Mississippi. It was strange for me to see folks working the fields and planting in February. Fruit trees were in bloom, massive fields of sprouts were poking through the rich soil, and grape vines for miles all kept me entertained. If not for this nice change from the concrete of the city, the ride through the valley would have been mind numbing. It is incredibly straight. The only turns I made for hundreds of miles were the ones I made to exit for fuel. Which I did four times. I’m sure the Goose’s gas mileage would’ve been stronger if I kept it a lower pace, but I was trying to make as many miles as I could before dark. The race with the sun was an inevitable loss for me, since I had such a lofty goal. By the time I made it through San Francisco, I had three monster energy drinks and it was after 8pm. The caffeine kick wore off at that point and my focus took a serious dive. I then pointed at the town Santa Rosa, north of San Fran, on my map and made that the new goal. I found a room at about 9:30 at a Motel 6 and crashed out.

My trip home will have to be at a much quicker rate than my trip out here due to the funds. Day 117 was a eye opening experience regarding the discomfort that my hind end will have to endure the next two weeks as I head east. 500 miles on the Goose is no fun at all. I am planning a trip to the northwest later on in the year. There is still so much to see.

About mikekrabal

I'm a fella who finally let the inner traveler come out. A non-standard sort.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Day 117 Northbound

  1. Should have taken Pacific Coast Highway, would have been a much much more scenic and fun route! Also, there is a Giant Sequoia National monument between LA and San Fran (and a little bit to the east) that has some of the largest redwoods in the US!

    If you are gonna be in San Fran for any period of time, make sure to check out the Zeitgeist bar in Mission district. It has good people and a dirtbike hanging on the wall!

    Posted by Igor Dmitry | February 8, 2012, 2:17 pm
  2. Can’t belive I woke up In California and went to bed in west Virginia! I had such an amazing time with you and can’t tell you enough how excited I am for you to come home! Your journey will continue maybe at a later date, but you always make things happen! No doubt in my mind.

    Posted by britt | February 8, 2012, 2:27 pm
  3. As you talk of ending the trip, It almost brings brings tears to my eyes. I knew this day would come. $ is the end of lots of travels. When you told me at Luckenbach that you had set aside $ 30;00 per day, I knew that was not realistic. Nice thought though. Those days are gone. . Food & lodging on the road is sooooooooooo expensive now days., even though you’ve managed to use Motel 6 & Motel 8 etc. .I’m sad because I fill like my vacation is coming to an end also, but I’m THANKFUL for the distance that I did get to ride along. The adventure in me was ready to ‘ ROCK & ROLL but the father & grandfather in me worried about the camping in bad weather, rough terrain, & idiots, not to mention those crazy California drivers. Honestly, I’m glad to see you going HOME. I know that your family will be glad to have you back. And hopefullly, now that you’ve gotten this out of your system, you and Brittany can settle down together. ( Thats just a suggestion– but I think its a good one. ) Hell, no other girl is going to move in after you’ve been in a pup tent with someone else. Thats just the way those women are. LOL I just wish I had the cash to keep this trip moving. Someone at Muryll Lynch has $ 240.oo of my money & that would finish your trip, ( even in Holliday Inn Express every night ). Now you have to be thinking where you’re going to stay when you get home. YOU SOLD THE HOUSE,——— FOOL ! Ha. Ha.
    Be careful on your way home., and John & I want to see you & Britany in Luckenbach. Need to do that before you start working because of no VACATION that first year. It’s a catch 22. No job—-No $$$. Got job—-no vacation. Call me when you get home @ 713/515-6914. Proud to be your friend, Asa Bob Hearn

    Posted by Asa Bob Hearn | February 8, 2012, 11:04 pm
    • As always, good advice. I plan to swing by and see you guys on my way back to WV in a week or so if you’ll be free. I let you know when I get close. I hope this isn’t my last big adventure. I have the bug now. As for where I’ll be living. I guess I’ll be staying with Brittany when I get back. I’ll talk to ya soon and will continue to post until the day I get home and maybe I’ll just keep on writing. Who knows lol.

      Posted by mikekrabal | February 9, 2012, 12:20 pm
  4. Bob I would love to meet you guys! I have heard so much about you all! I’m so happy to be apart of Mikes trip in the little way I was!! I’m glad to hear he met such nice people along the way!

    Posted by britt | February 9, 2012, 10:46 am

Leave a Reply

About Me

My name's Mike Krabal and I am from Jefferson County WV. I'm a thirty year old guy who still believes that you can be anything you want to be. I'm on a mission to find out exactly what that is.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Networked Blogs

Blog Stats

  • 78,669 hits
