//
you're reading...
Arizona, Fort Stockton, Texas, Wilcox

Videos from the road. Christmas Day, and a fellow two wheel long term rider


This is Ivan, the fellow that I met in a McDonalds parking lot in Ft. Stockton Texas. At the time he was venturing off on the next leg of his four corners journey after being trapped in a west Texas motel due to bad weather for almost a week. This guy was packing more gear than most military vehicles. I have no doubt that he is still traveling even though I have stopped for now. You can scope out his journey at ivansjourney.org. His bike is a Ural with a sidecar and a trailer for a tag along.

I wrote a bit about Ivan on day 123, but I wanted to say another little piece about him. Now that I’m back home and I reflect on our brief encounter that day in west Texas I remember how fantastic his spirit was. Adventuring brings out the best from the deepest parts of a person. It sure did for Ivan and I. Ones worries and priorities are no longer in line with the masses. In most cases they are narrowed down to a few, very imperative worries, like keeping the bike on two wheels, instead of a hundred small, nagging, worries like paying three credit cards bills each month without being late. Living for a short time under the umbrella of these, more instinctual, priorities felt great and healed some of my inner grief. I don’t know where Ivan is as I write this, but I know that he is becoming a better soul everyday with every mile that he conquers.

This quick video is from Christmas Day in Wilcox Arizona at a Motel 6.

About mikekrabal

I'm a fella who finally let the inner traveler come out. A non-standard sort.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

About Me

My name's Mike Krabal and I am from Jefferson County WV. I'm a thirty year old guy who still believes that you can be anything you want to be. I'm on a mission to find out exactly what that is.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Networked Blogs

Blog Stats

  • 78,713 hits
